Registration & Operation of Vehicles
In addition to all traffic rules and regulations applicable to operating motor vehicles upon streets and highways in the State of North Carolina, the following additional rules and regulations apply to students, faculty, staff, and visitors operating motor vehicles on the campus of Coastal Carolina Community College. Students, faculty, staff, and visitors are responsible for any liability or damage claims arising from their negligence.
All vehicles operated on campus must be properly registered, insured, and licensed. All full-time and part-time curriculum students, faculty, and staff members must register any motor vehicle to be operated on campus in the Security Services Department. Students who are enrolled in continuing education classes only are exempt from this registration requirement and will receive parking permits on the first day of class. One parking placard will be issued to each employee and student as applicable, and is to be displayed from the rear view mirror when possible. Each placard is issued to the permit holder and transferred between vehicles as necessary. Visitor parking must be for individuals who are not currently enrolled or employed.
Maximum Speed Limit
Notwithstanding any provision of North Carolina law to the contrary, the maximum speed at which any vehicle shall be operated on campus is 15 miles per hour. It is the responsibility of every person operating a vehicle not to exceed a speed that is safe under the conditions then existing.
Parking spaces on campus are designated as E – Employees; S – Students; Handicapped; Overflow; Training Vehicle; Visitor/Cosmetology Patron; and Undesignated (open to all students, employees, and visitors).
With the exception of handicapped, visitor, and training vehicle parking, all spaces are undesignated from 1:30 p.m. through midnight, Monday through Friday. Spaces designated for a particular purpose are to be used exclusively for that purpose.
No parking is authorized on lawns, landscaped areas, sidewalks or other areas not designated for parking without prior approval from the Security Services Department. No vehicle may be left on campus overnight without prior approval from the Security Services Department. Any vehicle left on campus overnight without prior permission may be towed at the expense of the owner. In the event a vehicle is removed from campus, the Security Services Department will be able to provide information on the location of the vehicle.
Fines & Sanctions
In addition to the fines and penalties imposed by the State of North Carolina for violation of the general laws regulating the use and operation of motor vehicles on the streets and highways of North Carolina, a fine not to exceed $25.00 per offense shall be imposed upon each student, faculty, or staff member who violates any regulation contained herein. The assessment of a fine shall be evidenced by the issuance of a written citation left on the vehicle or delivered to the permit holder. In addition, improperly parked vehicles may have a tire boot applied which will require assistance by an authorized security officer before the vehicle can be mobilized.
In addition to a fine, any vehicle found to be in violation of any rule or regulation affecting the operation of other motor vehicles or disrupting normal campus activities may be towed at the expense of the owner. In the event a vehicle is removed from campus, the Security Services Department will be able to provide information on the location of the vehicle.
All fines assessed under these rules and regulations must be paid to the Accounting Office within ten (10) days of assessment or prior to the next registration period, whichever is earlier. Any student with an outstanding parking citation shall not be allowed to register until the fine is paid. Grades and/or transcripts will be withheld for nonpayment of a parking fine. Repeated and/or extreme campus traffic violations may result in the revocation of vehicle driving/parking privileges.