Admission requirements for the NC Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission and Coastal Carolina Community College must be completed before a student can be registered for a BLET class.

Applicants must:

  • Be at least 21 years old (20 years old with official request of law enforcement agency)
  • Have a clean criminal and driving record
  • Pass the Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE) with a score of at least 597
  • Pass the Police Officer Physical Agility Test (POPAT)
  • Have graduated high school
  • Have a valid North Carolina driver’s license (active duty and military dependents exempt)
  • Secure sponsorship from a North Carolina law enforcement agency
  • Have a North Carolina licensed medical professional verify their physical-readiness
  • Retrieve and submit an OFFICIAL Local Criminal Records Check for every county resided in the United States since the age of 16
  • Disclose all criminal charges (regardless of disposition), military disciplinary issues, college disciplinary issues, as well as ALL illicit drug use
  • Complete and surrender all documentation provided by the BLET Director
  • Provide copies of:
    • High school diploma or GED, or transcript showing graduation date
    • Birth certificate
    • NC Driver License
    • DD214 – Member 4 showing discharge status (if former military)

Equipment Needed

  • BLET student reference books
  • Class uniforms (embroidered collared shirt and cap, khaki cargo/tactical pants, tan belt, military style tan suede boots)
  • Physical training clothing (gray shorts and/or sweatpants, bright green t-shirts and/or sweatshirts, running shoes and socks)

Please do not purchase uniforms or books until instructed to do so by the BLET Director.